The Cabinet.—The Cabinet is a committee of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada and is responsible to Parliament. By convention the members of the Cabinet are members of either the House of Commons or the Senate. Normally a Cabinet member has a seat in the House of Commons.

The Cabinet initiates nearly all public Bills placed before Parliament and following established precedent resigns office when it becomes evident that it no longer holds the confidence of the representatives of the people. Its members are chosen by the Prime Minister and each generally assumes charge of one of the various departments of government, although a Minister may hold more than one portfolio at the same time or may be without portfolio.

Ministry	Prime Minister	Length of Administration	
1	Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald	July 1, 1867 - Nov. 5, 1873	
$\overline{2}$	Hon. Alexander Mackenzie		
3	Rt. Hon. Sir JOHN ALEXANDER MACDONALD	Oct. 17, 1878 - June 6, 1891	
4	Hon. Sir John Joseph Caldwell Abbott.		
4 5	Rt. Hon. Sir John Sparrow David Thompson	Dec. 5, 1892 - Dec. 12, 1894	
ĕ	Hon. Sir MACKENZIE BOWELL		
ž	Hon. Sir CHARLES TUPPER.		
8	Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier.		
8	Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden.		
č		(Conservative Administration)	
10	Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden.		
10		(Unionist Administration)	
11	Rt. Hon. ARTHUR MEIGHEN		
		(Unionist-"National Liberal	
		and Conservative Party")	
12	Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King.		
13	Rt. Hon. ARTHUR MEIGHEN.		
14	Rt. Hon, William Lyon Mackenzie King	Sept. 25, 1926 - Aug. 6, 1930	
15	Rt. Hon. Richard Bedford Bennett		
16	Rt. Hon. WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE KING		
17	Rt. Hon. LOUIS STEPHEN ST. LAURENT		

## 3.—Prime Ministers since Confederation, 1867

## 4.-Members of the Seventeenth Ministry as at May 31, 1955

(According to precedence of Ministers)

Norz.—A complete list of the members of Federal Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appears in the 1912 Year Book, pp. 422-429. Later Ministries will be found in subsequent editions of the Year Book.

Office	Occupant	Date of First Appointment <sup>1</sup>	Date of Appointment to Present Portfolio
Prime Minister and President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada Minister of Trade and Commerce and Minister of Defence Production	Rt. Hon. Louis Stephen St. LAURENT. Rt. Hon. C. D. Howe.	Dec. 10, 1941 Oct. 23, 1935	Nov. 15, 1948 Jan. 19, 1948 Mar. 22, 1951
Minister of Agriculture. Minister of National Health and Welfare Minister of National Revenue. Minister of Labour. Secretary of State for External Affairs. Minister of Justice and Attorney General. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Veterans Affairs. Minister of Finance and Receiver General. Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys. Postmaster General. Minister of National Defence. Minister of the Government in the Senate and Solicitor General.	Rt. Hon. J. G. GARDINER Hon. PAUL MARTIN Hon. J. J. MCCANN Hon. M. F. GREGG Hon. L. B. PEARSON. Hon. S. S. GARSON Hon. ROFERT H. WINTERS Hon. MUGUES LAPOINTE. Hon. W. E. HARRIS. Hon. GROEG PRUDHAM Hon. ACCIDE CÓTÉ HON. JAMES SINCLAIR. HON. RALPH O. CAMPNEY. HOR. WILLIAM R. MACDONALD.	Oct. 28, 1935 Apr. 18, 1945 Jan. 19, 1945 Jan. 19, 1945 Sept. 10, 1948 Nov. 15, 1948 Aug. 24, 1949 Jan. 18, 1950 Feb. 13, 1952 Oct. 15, 1952 May 12, 1953	Coct. 23, 1936 Doct. 12, 1946 Apr. 18, 1945 Sept. 10, 1948 Nov. 15, 1948 Sept. 17, 1953 July 1, 1954 July 1, 1954 July 1, 1954 July 1, 1954 July 1, 1954 July 1, 1954 Jan, 12, 1954
Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. Minister of Transport. Secretary of State of Canada	Hon. JEAN LESAGE Hon. GEORGE C. MARLER	July 1, 1954	July 1, 1954 Sept. 17, 1953 July 1, 1954 July 1, 1954

<sup>1</sup> Appointee was not necessarily sworn in on date given.